If you or your teen son or daughter want to get your driver’s license in Washington State, you need to know the requirements. It’s helpful to learn about what drivers ed Washington state has to offer and how it can help you pass your driving test.
Is Driver’s Ed in Washington State Required?
Driver’s education in Washington is a requirement for first-time drivers under the age of 18. The course is called Traffic Safety Education (TSE). It can help teach safety skills to new drivers. Driver’s ed in Washington State covers traffic laws and what to expect on the road along with defensive driving techniques. These techniques teach you to drive defensively, assuming that another driver will do something unexpected.
You can learn how to handle a vehicle in hazardous conditions. You will be better prepared to drive in wet or icy conditions after taking a driver’s ed course. Even though it’s not a requirement to get your license in Washington State, it’s beneficial and can help make you a better driver.
Requirements for New Drivers
To sign up for the driver education course, you must be at least 15 years of age. You can enroll before you get your permit. When you apply for your instruction permit, you will need to show that you are enrolled in the TSE course if you are younger than 15-1/2 years of age. All drivers must pass the knowledge test. Parents must sign for the instruction permit for all drivers under the age of 18.
If you move from another state to Washington, the driving course must meet the required standards of the state.
What to Expect with the Driver’s Ed Course
When you take the driver’s education course in Washington, you will have 30 hours of classroom instruction with no more than two hours per day. You must have a minimum of six hours of driving practice with no more than one hour per day. The course requires at least one hour of you observing another driver behind the wheel.
Anyone under the age of 18 must attend a driver education program at a high school or driver training school.
Getting Your Driver’s License
To get your driver’s license in Washington if you’re under 18, you must have a driver’s permit for at least six months before applying. You will need to provide a certificate of completion from the driver’s education course.
Along with the driving from the training course, you must show evidence that you completed a minimum of 50 hours of practice driving. Ten of those hours must be driven at night. Your parents will need to sign the Parental Authorization Affidavit. Make sure to bring proof of car insurance for liability and proof of your identity.
Once you qualify for a driver’s license, you will receive an intermediate license until you turn 18 years of age. This license will carry restrictions.
How to Choose the Right Drivers Ed Washington State Training Program
When considering which driver’s training course to sign up for, you should make sure it meets the state requirements. The school and the instructors should be licensed with the certificates for each instructor displayed. The instructor is required to carry a wallet certificate.
Find out how the school will keep track of attendance and hours for the students. Ask for a copy, so you can keep track of training. You’ll want to ask how many instructors are in the program to verify that there are enough to answer questions. Feel free to ask how instruction is taught. It’s a good idea to have visual aids and videos to help students remember more of what they learn.
Driver Training School Program
The Driver Training Program monitors training schools and the instructors to verify they provide the necessary classroom and driving experience necessary to meet state laws. This program determines the curriculum for the classroom portion of the training.
The program screens the instructors to determine their qualifications and their backgrounds. It is responsible to handle any complaints made and provide disciplinary action necessary.
If you are a teen or the parent of a teen who wants to get their driver’s license, you’ll want to research drivers ed Washington state. Make sure you understand the requirements so that you can get your license when the training is completed. When you know what is required for these schools, you can feel more comfortable with their training to help you or your teen prepare for the road.